Exact Answer: 18 months
Driver Violation Point System provides New York State DMW a way of identifying and taking actions against a driver who is of high risk. DMV assigns points for a specific traffic offense.
When you receive 11 points within 18 months, you will have your driver’s license suspended. Giving citation to careless drivers helps reduce reckless driving on the roads and highways.
By storing records, DMV is capable of monitoring drivers who are said to be high-risk on the road. As a driver in New York, you will be allotted maximum points when you violet any traffic rule, and action is taken on you.
In this article, we shall go through how long do points stay on your license in NY and why.
How long do points stay on your license in NY?
When you violate any New York traffic regulation, the points will remain in your license for three years once the conviction has passed. You should note that when you receive 11 points within 18 months, your license will be suspended.
This will, however, defer depending on the traffic rule you violated. For example, driving when under the influence of alcohol, the point you receive will be kept in your driver’s license for ten years.
Why are points kept for long
Despite that, the points are saved in your license for three years; they not used for any accumulation reasons. The points are, however, stored to assess your ability to drive a car safely.
The pints accumulated for revocation or suspensions are carried within 18 months. Points accrued for 18 months will be used against you if they are more than 11 points.
You should note that any revocation or suspension of your driver’s license will remain for four years. Furthermore, any serious offense is not forgiven by the safety driving courses.
Violations that are not assigned points
There are some few violations that are not awarded points in the New York State, and they include;
- A pedestrian violation
- Bicycle violation
- Parking violation
- An offense that is related to motor vehicle inspection, car dimension or weight, and any vehicle equipment apart from inappropriate service brakes.
- A violation that is related to the unlicensed, unregistered, or uninsured car.
- An offense that does not result from operating a vehicle.
- A breach that is related to improper use of the High Occupancy Vehicle Lane.
- Violation pertaining to business or selling goods that are established in traffic law.
A conviction for out of state drivers
When you are convicted in any state or a country, there are no points added to your New York driver’s license. However, these rules do not apply to Quebec or Ontario.
New York has an agreement with both Ontario and Quebec; therefore, any traffic offense carried out in any of the two provinces a point will be added to your New York driver’s license.
You should note that there are three aspects which determine how DMV points are added to your driving license and they include;
- You have to be convicted of a violation
- Points are accumulated from the violation date and not the convicted time.
- Points accrued within the past 18 months are added to provide total points.
I’ve put so much effort writing this blog post to provide value to you. It’ll be very helpful for me, if you consider sharing it on social media or with your friends/family. SHARING IS ♥️
Sandeep Bhandari is the founder of ExactlyHowLong.com website.
I am a professional full-time blogger, a digital marketer, and a trainer. I love anything related to the Web and I try to learn new technologies every day.
All the team management, content creation, and monetization tasks are handled by me. Together with the team at ExactlyHowLong, the aim is to provide useful and engaging content to our readers.
In game development, I love playing with every different engine, toolset, and framework I can find. In digital art, I love everything from painting to vector work to pixel art to 3D modeling.
In short, if it’s creative and you can make it digitally, I love it.